top of page
  • From General Vicente Lim's Facebook Page

Gen. Vicente Lim's last known letter to his wife


The front line, Bataan, Feb. 20/42.

My dear Pilar:

Even paper is scarce. I don't know if this letter will ever get to you, but I am taking a chance, hoping you will get it.


Life is surely cheap in war. My Division defended the biggest portion of the Abucay position with only 1/3 for others to claim. The estimated casualties that we gave the Japs in that battle was 40,000 dead and wounded. Capinpin's Chaplain who was captured and made to work in Calumpit Bridge and San Fernando told us that he saw every day from about 60 trucks of Japs dead and cremated every day burning one big wooden house at a time in San Fernando and Malolos. Each truck contained at least 30 dead so you can imagine how many in 18 days of continuous fighting. When we got to our present position we must have inflicted heavy casualties on the enemy. The day after I arrived here we had 4 days of fighting and I drove the Japs out with many dead. I told my two regimental commanders -- Salgado and Lizardo that if they can't drive the Japs out I would lead the fight. They felt ashamed so they headed the soldiers with fixed bayonets and the Japs ran away. The history of this small engagement may be the turning point of the attack of the Japs in our right sector. We disorganized the planned-out attack of the enemy to our right. Every time they tried to cross on my front I attacked them. At one time they tried to cross in force and I gave the enemy a severe licking with 40 dead and several wounded. Now they are avoiding my front and my Div. is having a needed rest. My other regimental commander is Fidel Cruz, whom you knew in Baguio. He is my bravest officer and full of work and common sense.... All are decorated with Silver Stars for bravery. Another brave officer I have is Jacobo Zobel who is being decorated also. We are all brave and I do not know how I can pick the ones who are not. I stayed with them as near the front line as possible. In Abucay for example I was only 1200 yards from the farthest soldier.... I am now as strong as any Division in Bataan without asking additional men from anyone. The details are not proper to mention as to how I did it. Capinpin is my neighbor now and he is doing well. With all this talk I sincerely give the credit to my officers and enlisted men. They are the ones who did it all. Mine is only to inspire and to lead them. When history is written I will give them all the credit. Their satisfaction is mine to share.


Love, Vicente

Featured Posts 
Recent Posts 

 Click "Older or Newer Post"

for more

Find CALAMBA ON
  • Facebook Long Shadow
Search By Tags

Proudly created by Gil R. Miranda with Wix.com

  • Facebook Social Icon
bottom of page